There has been a mill on the site since 1666 but the present six-storied mill was built in the 1880s by John Saunderson of Louth using light coloured local bricks and coated in tar.
The sails drive the grinding stones to produce flour, which is still milled today.
Alongside the Mill, you can visit the Museum of Rural Life featuring many exhibits form the 1930s and 1940s and incorporates the RAF Grimsby exhibition. On site is also a miniature railway, cafes, shops and more.
About the Windmill and museum
Visitors can enjoy
- The Museum of Rural Life featuring many exhibits form the 1930s and 1940s and incorporating the RAF Grimsby exhibition
- Miniature railway
- Old railway-carriage café
- Old-fashioned sweetshop
- Dog groomers
- Laser Wood Engraving
- Hair and nail salon
- Bridge club
There are excellent parking and toilet facilities on site.
Groups and schools are always welcome at the Mill and the Museum. We can offer guided tours including trips up the mill tower to view the internal workings of the mill and take advantage of the views from the top floor of the mill.
Families: The museum and windmill are both family friendly.